Feather and Rocks

Feather

I love feathers. I love their colors. I love the fact that these miracles help a bird rise effortlessly into the air which also seems miraculous.  In my younger days, they were a mainstay of my art. I created feather themed paintings. A feather was always beneath my signature. I collected feathers on my nature walks and kept them in a small pouch the way a shaman carries sacred items in a medicine bag to ward off evil spirits, to keep power near.

I found this specimen while walking the beach with my daughter. The next morning I sought it out and stuck into the sand, surrounded it with a circle of small rocks and photographed it at dawn on sand smoothed by waves.

Leave a Reply

