To Market, To Market

Market

Market

I love the open markets prevalent worldwide. These markets seem to be ubiquitous in countries outside the direct influence of the west. I walk through them just to feel the energy of people engaged in commerce. It’s a system in which prices are rarely fixed. Living in India, I learned the art of haggling with the merchants. I learned to play the game of looking disinterested in the product in an effort to achieve a price better price. One needs to be ready to walk away to get the best prices. Sometimes I purchase something for an amount I find acceptable. At other times, the merchant sees the desire in my eyes and I pay more than I hoped. Either way it’s a big game in which both parties win. I end up with merchandise,,,the vendor with cash to support his family.

Leave a Reply

