Monochrome Monday: There Will Be Poor Always

There will be poor always

There will be poor always

A fact of city life are the poor, the destitute, the beggars, the homeless. Some are legitimately in need of help while for others it is a profession. Rabat seemed to have a someone seeking a handout on every third corner. I am always torn as to how I should respond when confronted by someone seeking a handout. I don’t give money for I am afraid it will reinforce the begging cycle though I will give food to nourish their bodies. Still, I believe those that have been blessed with something have a duty to share with those that don’t so I assuage my conscience by donating cash to the local food bank hoping it will trickle down to those truly in need.

Leave a Reply

