Monochrome Monday: Just A Man

Man @ Mosque

Man @ Mosque

To the small minded, this traditionally dressed man evokes fear, awakens hatred, symbolizes all that is wrong with the world simply because his garb and facial hair choice indicates he is a Muslim, a practitioner of the Islamic faith. The small minded see Muslim and immediately think terrorist.

I look at this picture and see a man, a man desiring a connection with God, a man, possibly with children, desiring  prosperity, desiring happiness for his family, desiring to make a difference with his life. I look at this picture and I see a brother with whom I would like to strike up a conversation. I look at this man and see myself had I been born halfway around the world. I see from a connection perspective because I live firmly in the camp or the 14th incarnation of the Dalai Lama believing there is no such thing as an Islamic terrorist or as a Christian terrorist or as a Buddhist terrorist. True devotees of these faiths are practitioners of peace.

“Buddhist terrorist. Muslim terrorist. That wording is wrong. Any person who wants to indulge in violence is no longer a genuine Buddhist or genuine Muslim, because it is a Muslim teaching that once you are involved in bloodshed, actually you are no longer a genuine practitioner of Islam.” ~14th Dalai Lama

 

Leave a Reply

