The Sacking of America

Mother & Child

The Sacking of America

When I took the photo, I was focusing on the mother and the child and the surrounding colors. I loved the imagery. It wasn’t until I put it in this post and began writing that I noticed the saber held by the white hand, noticed the three-masted schooner bearing crosses, the symbol of a loving God to the Europeans. A symbol of death to the nonwhite natives of the Americas. It’s strange that the same symbol can have such opposite meanings. I didn’t plan to post this picture just after Columbus / Indigenous People’s Day. It was sitting in my queue and just made it’s way to the front. I have heard it said, there are no coincidences. Perhaps it’s so.

Leave a Reply

