Coots

Coots

Coots

I forget why I was near Maple Lake in the Southwest Suburbs of Chicago but I was there, on a weekday carrying my camera as is typical for me. I was shooting photos of a flock of coots on the shore but not getting much I found to be of interest.

Eventually, they took to the water, a more natural element for these aquatic birds with the black feathers with white bills and oversized feet. I caught a few taking flight. The hint of sun on the upper left felt as if they were flying into a new day.

Leave a Reply

