Diversity In Relationships

IMG_2548_sm

Diversity in Relationships

It wasn’t that long ago when it was illegal to marry or be in an intimate relationship someone outside your own race. These laws were call Anti-miscegenation laws. It wasn’t until 1967 that the US Supreme Court deemed these laws unconstitutional requiring the final 17 states, all former slave states plus Oklahoma, all in the Southeast, to repeal their laws.

This practice of outlawing relationships between races is something we held in common with Nazi Germany and South African Apartheid. Lest you think this small minded thinking is a thing of the past, as recently as 2009, Keith Bardwell, a justice of the peace in Louisiana refused to officiate a wedding for an interracial couple solely because they were not of the same race. In Chicago, there are many interracial couples. I see this diversity as a strength of the city I call home.

I remember hearing justifications during my High School years that it was not fair to the children of interracial marriages because they would be ostracized. I spent much of my life fighting against those things I was supposed to do including dating & marrying within my race. My children are the result of an interracial marriage and have never had problems finding friends.

 

Leave a Reply

