Father, Forgive Me!

 

Father!!!!

Father!!!!

I don’t know the name of this statue but knew I coveted it the moment my eyes fell upon it. It was too big to steal so I captured it’s essence with my camera. (This is why I tend to carry a camera with me). A little googling informed me that the title of this piece is, “The Angel of Peace”.

To me it says, Father, I lay down my weapons of war and ask forgiveness for the pain I have released upon this earth. I believed I was acting with righteous indignation but forgot you are a loving God who abhors all evil.

In the Bible it is written:

You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth. But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well. If anyone forces you to go one mile, go with them two miles. ~Matthew 5:38-41

How often we who claim to be followers of Christ Jesus forget this passage, words He spoke from the heart when he gave the famous sermon on the mount. These words seem to be no where in the hearts of the politicians who claim to be Christian yet preach hatred, no where in the words of the vile, politicized masses who villainize anyone different from us be it different faith, different skin, different anything not “white therefore right”. How can we claim to be a Christian country when we are so filled with hate?

Father, please forgive me and cleanse my heart of any hint of evil. Help me love all of your created humanity as you do.

 

Leave a Reply

