Self Portrait: Van Gogh

Van Gogh

Van Gogh

One of my favorite classic artists is Van Gogh. (I must admit, most of what I know about him comes from a Van Gogh based episode of Doctor Who). Every time I visit the Art Institute of Chicago, I can’t leave until I see the Van Gogh exhibit. Beginning in Feb 2016, there will be a special Van Gogh feature which brings together the three versions of his bedroom painting. It’s something I will definitely see after I return from my February trip to India and China.

I love this self portrait. His angst is captured so well in the melancholy eyes. Until I saw is self portraits I didn’t realize he, like me, was a ginger.

Leave a Reply

