Awilda, The Giant Head

Looking Into My Dreams, Awilda

Looking Into My Dreams, Awilda

I can’t seem to get enough of Chicago’s outdoor sculptures. Be in the Emerging Buddha heads along the Lake Front Path, the Wizard of Oz characters at Oz-Park, the video sculpture of people’s faces in Millennium Park or any of the countless other statues I discover on my meandering bike rides throughout the city.

This beauty, titled, Looking Into My Dreams, Awilda, is a sculpture of a young woman from the Dominican Republic. She seems to be relaxed, introspective, meditative despite the city chaos, comfortable with who she is. I find the piece to be calming. Sadly, she was removed very early in January 2016. I will miss her.

 

3 thoughts on “Awilda, The Giant Head

Leave a Reply

