The Old West Ghost

Buffalo (Courtesy of Irene)

Buffalo (Courtesy of Irene)

Seeing the herds of buffalo felt like a scene out of the Old West when the great beasts roamed the plains. I have only had the opportunity to see the Old West in movies. Standing here, watching them graze, I felt transported back to days gone past. For an instant, when the awe subsided, I imagined myself on horse back hunting them with the Plains Indians by bow and arrow. Now, my bow was a compound bow and the arrows were aluminum shafted with broad heads. So, a bit of modernity had creeped into my fantasy. These grand beasts were hunted almost to extinction. For years only their ghosts roamed the West.

Leave a Reply

