Sacred Spaces

Delicate Arch

Delicate Arch

When someone mentions sacred spaces our thoughts typically run to cathedrals, temples, churches…man made structures constructed to honor a supreme being. While my mind does drift to those places it’s just as likely to conjure images of the natural world, of those places sculpted by the actual hand of God.

This is me standing at the base of Delicate Arch just North of Moab Utah in Arches National Park. I have been there a handful of times. Still, each time I set eyes upon this wonder, I am filled with a sense of awe that evokes feelings of reverence. It is in the red rock world of Southern Utah that I find myself most aware of God.

There are many amazing pictures of this rock formation which mine simply cannot compare. So, I used PhotoShop to take one of my favorite photos and convert it into an impressionistic image. I must say this rendering pleases me.

Leave a Reply

