Dambulla Entrance

Dambulla Monastery Entrance

Dambulla Monastery / Golden Temple Entrance

There is a monastery at street level of the Dambulla Monastery. At that entrance is a giant golden Buddha. It was the largest Buddha I saw in Sri Lanka. There are others around the world that dwarf this one. I hope to get a chance to see them on my travels in the coming years.

Though it was big, it did not have impact on me as did the many Buddha statues in the cave temples themselves. I guess it’s because the ones in the cave temples are much older than this relatively modern statue. And, with age comes wisdom so I assume the other ones are wiser.

Leave a Reply

