Traditional Beauty

Traditional Beauty

Traditional Beauty

As I was leaving Bhaktapur Durbar Square, I noticed a few women dressed in costume having their pictures taken. By the time I was able to power up my camera, only one woman remained of who I was able get a couple of pictures. The symbol on her forehead is, I think, the Buddha Eye.  The white faces appear to be smiling skulls. I am particularly taken by the intricate woodwork surrounding the windows.

I was so focused on capturing the ephemeral woman that I did not become aware of the ornate woodwork until I reviewed my pictures. I wish I had noticed them sooner so I could have captured some of them in more detail. It seems I am sometimes so focused on the shiny penny that I miss the exquisite in the everyday.

Leave a Reply

