Eternal Words

Rock Words

Painted Rock Words

On the way out of the Monkey Temple, I explored more of the area near the Three Buddhas. In one section just off to the side, I found a number of rocks inscribed with text and colorfully painted. I am not able to read this text nor did I encounter anyone that did. This saddened me because it reminded me yet again that I speak just one language. For this, I have no one to blame but myself.

These words will live on pretty much ad infinitum, at least, forever when compared to the exceedingly short span of a human life when compared to the relative eternity of rocks. I wonder, will the future ancients have the ability to understand the messages? Will they understand that the words inscribed are love letters from the past to the future?

Leave a Reply

