365 Steps

365 Steps

365 Steps

To visit Swayambhunath, the Monkey Temple, in Kathmandu, one has the option of entering via the tourist entrance at the rear of the temple and climbing a few steps or visiting via the main entrance and addressing the 365 steps, one for each day of the year, to reach the temple proper. The icons just visible at the top of this picture are located about a quarter of the way up the steps. That is the location of the three Buddhas.

My driver suggested entering via the rear but I, despite the rain, told him I wanted to take the long way. I am glad I did for the walk felt like I was undergoing a mini pilgrimage, a penance to purify my wretched soul prior to visiting with the holy. The struggle of the walk and the rain left me feeling cleansed, worthy of visiting this monument to lord Buddha.

One thought on “365 Steps

Leave a Reply

