The Queen of Samar

Queen of Samar

The Queen of Samar

Irene and I were at a resort on the Island of Samar in the Philippines. It wasn’t a great resort nor was it really bad. It was just below the standards I have become used to living in the US. Other than the fact that it was difficult sleeping in a room with a barely functioning window air conditioner and a rumbling generator kicking in when the power fades, I was content.

In retrospect, it is very difficult to complain about anyplace that provides an abundance of sun, the calming sound of ocean waters lapping at the shore, dainty fish darting in and out of weed beds, brown and black mottled geckos hunting insects in staccato movements, and sunsets so colorful it’s hard to believe they are real.

We were visiting the land where she was born, raised, and lived most of her life. She gave me the gift of seeing this exotic location through the eyes of one intimate with the ebb and flow of native life.

She was standing directly in front of me on this night. She was standing there in a delicate black tank top exposing her sun goldened skin with black hair pulled back in a casual ponytail. She was standing there against a dramatic backdrop of blue hues and golden yellows. Standing there as the sun slowly set over East Letye, the island of her youth.

Seeing her standing there, I had the overwhelming feeling that I was caught in a moment of divine inspiration, human perfection. It was a unique moment where mother earth, rolling sea, sunset fire, cooling breeze all converged at a single point in space and time making me aware of the exquisite love binding our hearts.

Though it would take me a few more months to propose, it was this trip that sealed in me the knowledge that I found the woman with whom I would share the remainder of my life.

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T3i
Lens: EFS 55-250 @ 55
Shutter Speed: 1/160
Aperture: f/8
Exposure: 0ev

3 thoughts on “The Queen of Samar

  1. Poetic. Your words and the shot. So how’s Samar? If you’re in Eastern Samar try the Pacific side in Divinubo Island. Half of me is Estehanon.

    • Hi Elmer,

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      I found West Samar to be quite beautiful. Scenically, I found myself more drawn to West Samar than I did to East Leyte. I will probably be visiting the Philippines again in 2015 at which time I hope to visit the rice terraces and visit Palawan.

      Cheers,

      David

Leave a Reply

